Category Archives: Cyber Crime

  • 0

Bad Android battery life? You should DELETE these 22 ‘criminal’ apps right now

ANDROID phone owners are being warned over 22 dodgy apps that drain your battery life – and could land you with a big phone bill.
The “clickfraud” apps pretend to be normal apps on the Google Play Store, but secretly perform criminal actions out of sight.
The dodgy apps appeared to have perfectly normal functionality, but were actually “criminal”, researchers saySophos
Experts at security firm Sophos found 22 such apps, which had been collectively downloaded more than 22million times.
This includes one illicit flashlight app that had racked up 1million downloads – before being yanked from Google’s Play Store.
The apps create invisible ads and trick advertisers into thinking you’ve clicked the, to make money.
Sometimes the ads will even pretend you’re clicking from an Apple device, in hopes of making more money.
One dodgy flashlight app had more than a million downloadsSophos
The ads never actually appear for the user – which means they’re not annoyed by them
Instead, the ads appear in a hidden browser window.
The malware then simulates a user interacting with the ad, tricking it into thinking the interaction was legitimate.
This means the people running the dodgy apps make more money.
It’s also bad news for users, as researchers explain: “From the user’s perspective, these apps drain their phone’s battery and may cause data overages as the apps are constantly running and communicating with servers in the background.”
The apps contained fraudulent code that tricked advertisers into handing over cashSophos
But for normal users without technical knowledge, it would be very hard to spot something was amiss.
Warning signs would be increased data usage and fast-draining battery life – but pinning those to the dodgy apps would be hard.
This creates another big problem: user reviews.
Many of the apps had barely any negative comments, because users don’t know anything is amiss. This means more people are likely to download the apps in future.
Reviews for the apps were positive, because users didn’t know what was happening behind the scenesSophos

Dodgy apps REVEALED

These are the apps you should uninstall right now…

Sparkle FlashLight – com.sparkle.flashlight
Snake Attack – com.mobilebt.snakefight
Math Solver – com.mobilebt.mathsolver
ShapeSorter – com.mobilebt.shapesorter
Tak A Trip – com.takatrip.android
Magnifeye – com.magnifeye.android
Join Up – com.pesrepi.joinup
Zombie Killer – com.pesrepi.zombiekiller
Space Rocket – com.pesrepi.spacerocket
Neon Pong – com.pesrepi.neonpong
Just Flashlight – app.mobile.justflashlight
Table Soccer – com.mobile.tablesoccer
Cliff Diver – com.mobile.cliffdiver
Box Stack – com.mobile.boxstack
Jelly Slice – net.kanmobi.jellyslice
AK Blackjack – com.maragona.akblackjack
Color Tiles – com.maragona.colortiles
Animal Match – com.beacon.animalmatch
Roulette Mania – com.beacon.roulettemania
HexaFall – com.atry.hexafall
HexaBlocks – com.atry.hexablocks
PairZap – com.atry.pairzap

“The only effects a user might notice is that the apps would use a significantly greater amount of data, at all times, and consume the phone’s battery power at a more rapid rate that the phone would otherwise require,” researchers explained.
“Because consumers would not be able to correlate these effects to the apps themselves, their Play Market reviews for these apps showed few negative comments.”
Google removed the dodgy apps from the Play Store on the week of November 25.
But the apps can still operate if you’ve already got them installed, so we recommend deleting them now.

MOST READ IN TECH

NEVER DIE

Injections, implants and magnetic chairs – Silicon Valley's quest for IMMORTALITY

ZUCK OFF

Woman claims she has PROOF Facebook is spying on conversations

GAME OVER

Fortnite gamer 'live-streamed himself battering 21-year-old pregnant mother'

DREAM STREAM

Ed Sheeran song smashes 2BILLION Spotify streams milestone in world first

CONF-EU-SION

Brits still 'clueless' about GDPR – and it's putting us at risk, warn experts

JUICE BOX

New McLaren smartphone promises FULL day of charge in 20 minutes

This isn’t the first time dodgy Android apps have been revealed.
In November, The Sun reported on dangerous apps that could steal your bank info and send fake texts.
And that same month, we shed light on 35 fake security apps in the Google Play Store.
Did you have any of these apps installed? Let us know in the comments!

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online news team? Email us at tips@the-sun.co.uk or call 0207 782 4368 . We pay for videos too. Click here to upload yours.


Phản hồi gần đây

Chuyên mục